login   |    register
Tools & Supplies: Compressors
Talk about compressors.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Compressor Problem
youngc
Visit this Community
Western Australia, Australia
Joined: June 05, 2007
KitMaker: 2,166 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 11, 2008 - 03:18 AM UTC
My compressor is experiencing a slight problem (I think). Here is the problem:

-For example, I spray a 5 second burst out of my airbrush.
-the compressor kicks in to top up the pressure.
-the pressure needle returns to the pre-selected pressure and stops, however, the compressor continues to operate for another 4-5 seconds after the needle returns to 'full' even though I am not using the airbrush.

Is something wrong, how can I fix this, it never did this when it was brand new.

Chas
matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Joined: February 28, 2002
KitMaker: 5,938 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 11, 2008 - 05:48 AM UTC
What type of compressor is it?
rotATOR
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: November 16, 2006
KitMaker: 223 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 11, 2008 - 10:33 AM UTC
if you have a tank then it is probably the pressure switch.
youngc
Visit this Community
Western Australia, Australia
Joined: June 05, 2007
KitMaker: 2,166 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 11, 2008 - 09:55 PM UTC
Hello,

My compressor is a Single Cylinder Piston Compressor tank 1/5 HP. Maximum Pressure: 7 BAR/100PSI. Air Delivery: 23-25L/min.

Mike, what is a pressure switch and what could be wrong?



matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Joined: February 28, 2002
KitMaker: 5,938 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 12, 2008 - 12:56 AM UTC
The pressure switch is what tells the compressor to come on when the tank pressure drops bleow a certain level.
Removed by original poster on 05/21/08 - 15:38:28 (GMT).
HawkeyeV
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
Joined: September 20, 2006
KitMaker: 319 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 13, 2008 - 08:30 AM UTC
moisture build up affecting the pressure switch is my guess
youngc
Visit this Community
Western Australia, Australia
Joined: June 05, 2007
KitMaker: 2,166 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, May 16, 2008 - 12:39 AM UTC
Ok I have done the checks and have found no leaks, and I have two moisture traps, one on the tank and one attached to my airbrush so I can't imagine moisture has anything to do with it?

What is wrong with the blimen thing??

Chas
youngc
Visit this Community
Western Australia, Australia
Joined: June 05, 2007
KitMaker: 2,166 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 17, 2008 - 06:46 PM UTC
Any ideas??
Removed by original poster on 05/21/08 - 15:38:18 (GMT).
matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Joined: February 28, 2002
KitMaker: 5,938 posts
P47 Heaven: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 19, 2008 - 08:18 AM UTC
Take a few pics of the compressor itself......... it might help us dignose the problem.......